Hello - excited about the info here

In this forum, the topics are up to you. Whether it's about Law of Attraction, Science, Metaphysics, Spiritual, World Events and News, etc....
oldbob

Hello - excited about the info here

Post by oldbob »

Hey Merlin and crew. First off, thanks to Merlin for this site and great info. I have been doing affirmations for over 15 years now via cassette tapes, and they have been a tremendous positive in my life. They are instrumental in me overcoming 12 years of horrific ulcerative colitis. However, I have never done them thru the night, so I'm very excited to try this.

I agree with Merlin saying that one must believe the affirmations or they wont work. Let me offer a quick example. I was raised a fundamentalist Christian, and God has always been a major part of my life. When I first started this journey 15 years or so ago, I made a tape and in it was an affirmation that went something like, "God loves me just the way I am", or "God loves me unconditionally".

So, when I first went into a self-hypnotic trance, played this tape and came to that unconditional love part, I had a very violent physical reaction and nearly vomited. This obviously snapped me out of the trance and frightened me. I tried this again later, and the very same reaction...a violent retching/vomiting. After some reflection and inward honesty, I discovered that, because of my upbringing, I did not believe God loved me at all, thus my sub-conscious violently rejected the lie I was trying to force upon it.

Thankfully I have worked through all that, but the lesson remains, you have to believe your affirmations. Reading and absorbing books such as Bruce Lipton's "the biology of belief' can be huge/fast help in expanding within and developing beliefs one can really have faith in - if that makes sense. :)
Thanks again,
Old Bob
Merlin
Site Admin

Re: Hello - excited about the info here

Post by Merlin »